Sheriff P. J. Tanner

"Three days after my 21st birthday, I joined the Beaufort County Sheriff's Office. There has never been a question in my mind about what I wanted to do. I feel the same pride and resolve and enthusiasm today about serving as a law enforcement officer as I did then. As I have continued to gain a broader scope of experience, I have become even more committed to serving Beaufort County as Sheriff."


"I believe in equal rights, equal justice, and equal opportunity for all regardless of race, creed, sex, age, physical disability or political affiliation."


  • Life-long resident of Beaufort County

  • Home: Bluffton, South Carolina

  • Married to Angela McCall of Greer, South Carolina - Magistrate Judge/Attorney

  • Political Affiliation: Republican

  • Graduated from the South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy (1981)


  • 1981 to 1994: Beaufort County Sheriff's  ◦Uniform Patrol Division

    • Patrol Supervisor

    • Boat Patrol Officer

    • Law Enforcement Instructor

    • Court Liaison Officer

    • Criminal Investigator

    • Internal Affairs Officer

    • Former SWAT Team Leader

    • Former Drug Task Force Commander

    • Former Southern Division Commander

  • 1995 to 1998: South Carolina Department of Public Safety ◦South Carolina Bureau of Protective Services Investigator for Executive Legislative, Judicial and Administrative Branches of South Carolina State Government

    • South Carolina Department of Public Safety State Highway Patrol Special Weapons and Reaction Team

    • South Carolina State Transport Police Drug Enforcement Liaison

    • Member of Statewide Special Traffic Alcohol and Radar Team, specializing in enforcement of Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Regulations through certification by the United States Department of Transportation

    • Liaison for and member of the Environmental Protection and Enforcement coordinating sub-committee for the United States Attorney's Office

  • 1998 

    • Elected as Sheriff of Beaufort County

  • 1999 - 2003:

    • First 4 year Term

  • 2002

    • Re-Elected

  • 2003 - 2007:

    • Second 4 year Term

  • 2006

    • Re-Elected

  • 2007 - 2011:

    • Third 4 year Term

  • 2010

    • Re-Elected

  • 2011 - 2015:

    • Fourth 4 Year Term

  • 2014:  

    • Re-Elected

  • 2015 - 2019:  

    • Fifth 4 year Term 


  • South Carolina Sheriff's Association

  • National Sheriff's Association

  • South Carolina Law Enforcement Officer's Association

  • Beaufort County Republican Party

  • Beaufort Area Republican Club

  • Sun City Republican Club

  • Bluffton Republican Club

  • Hilton Head Island Republican Club

  • Beaufort Federation of Republican Men

  • Former Member Corporate Board of Boys & Girls Clubs of the Low Country

  • Former Member South Carolina Law Enforcement

  • Training Council

  • Beaufort County Transportation Advisory Group

  • (TCL) Criminal Justice Advisory Committee

  • Elected 2006-2007 District #4 Representative South Carolina Sheriff's Association - Board of Directors

  • Legislative Committee for South Carolina Sheriff's Association

  • Elected 2010-2011 President of the South Carolina Sheriff's Association


  • Children's Health, Safety and Environmental Awareness - International Children's Empowerment Award (2000)

  • Special Recognition of Exemplary Support to the United States Marshals Service (2001)

  • U.S. Department of Justice Drug Enforcement Administration - Support of Narcotic Law Enforcement (2001)

  • Beaufort Jasper Academy for Career Excellence - Business Partner of the Year (2005)

  • Special Appreciation of Support - FBI/NAA South Carolina Chapter (2008)

  • First Army Division East - Outstanding Support to Command's Critical Training "Warriors Training Warriors" (2008)

  • Leadership Award - Sun City Hilton Head Safety and Service (2009)

  • The Keepers of the Flame Award - NAACP Hilton Head Island/Bluffton Branch (2009)

  • Beaufort County Council Commends: Professionalism, Expertise and Leadership of Service (2009)

  • Diamond Pharmacy Services Excellence Award (2009)

  • The Men and Women of the Beaufort County Sheriff's Office - "Part of Your Team" (2009)

  • South Carolina Sheriffs' Association - South Carolina Sheriff of the Year (2009)

  • Appointed Special Deputy United States Marshal for South Carolina (2010)

  • Partnership for Public Safety Nominee 2011 (from U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement)

  • South Carolina Republican Party Local Government Award (2011)

  • Citizens Opposed to Domestic Abuse (CODA) Certificate of Appreciation (2014)

Sheriff P. J. Tanner


Phone: 843-255-3191

Beaufort County Sheriff's Office

2001 Duke St

Beaufort, South Carolina 29902


Phone: 843-255-3200

© 2018 by Beaufort County Sheriff's Office