How can I get a copy of a police report or traffic accident report?
HOW TO REQUEST COPIES OF REPORTS
P. O. Box 1758
Beaufort, SC 29901
How do I find out if there is a warant out for my arrest?
We do not give that information over the phone.
How can I get a copy of my criminal record?
We only provide criminal records to law enforcement, security officers, and federally funded housing representatives, with a signed release form. You can obtainyou own criminal record by picking up a form at our records office, and sending it to SLED (South Carolina Law Enforcement Division). You will need to send in $25.00 with the form.
Who do I call to get civil process/judgment papers served?
Summons, Complaints, Mechanic Liens, Citations, Decrees & Subpoenas - $15.00
Out-of-State Papers, Claim & Delivery, Writs of Assistance, Distress Warrants, Orders of Seizures, Executions & Repossession - $25.00
Post Office Box 1758
Beaufort , South Carolina 29901
2001 Duke Street
Beaufort , South Carolina 29902
Execution Papers: Send to the attention of Lindsay Burns.
What is involved in the process of property judgments/executions?
Personal Property: Vehicles, mobile homes, motorcycles, etc. ( LIEN FREE)
Personal Property up to $5,000
Advertising Bond: $800.00 or more (Depending on length of ad)
Personal Property Bond: $350.00 minimum (Covers towing, storage, and advertising prior to being seized.)
Personal Property: Minimum of 2 weeks prior to date of sale
that the defendant has no property on which to place a levy;
that the defendant's property is not feasible to sell or the defendant cannot/will not pay monetarily.
Master Sergeant Jeff Light: (843) 255-3615
Lori Tuten- Judgments Clerk: (843) 255-3189
Do any area constables work directly with the Beaufort County Sheriff's Office?
Any individual wishing to obtain a constable's commission may contact Lt. Will Angelo at (843) 255-3138 or email him at firstname.lastname@example.org.
I am a patch collector who would like to trade patches. Who can I talk to?
How do I get an appointment to meet with the Sheriff or the Chief Deputy?
For Chief Deputy Mike Hatfield, call (843) 255-3192.
I was a victim of a crime that occurred on Hilton Head Island. Who can I call for an update?
How do I obtain a concealed weapon permit in South Carolina?
What to do if you, or someone you know, is a victim of Identity Theft?
What is the Sheriff's Office tax number?
What are the Child Restraint laws in South Carolina?
(A) Every driver of a motor vehicle (passenger car, pickup truck, van, or recreational vehicle) operated on the highways and streets of this State when transporting a child under eight years of age upon the public streets and highways of the State must properly secure the child in the vehicle as follows:
(1) An infant or child under two years of age must be properly secured in a rear-facing child passenger restraint system in a rear passenger seat of the vehicle until the child exceeds the height or weight limit allowed by the manufacturer of the child passenger restraint system being used.
(2) A child at least two years of age or a child under two years of age who has outgrown his rear-facing child passenger restraint system must be secured in a forward-facing child passenger restraint system with a harness in a rear passenger seat of the vehicle until the child exceeds the highest height or weight requirements of the forward-facing child passenger restraint system.
(3) A child at least four years of age who has outgrown his forward-facing child passenger restraint system must be secured by a belt-positioning booster seat in a rear seat of the vehicle until he can meet the height and fit requirements for an adult safety seat belt as described in item (4). The belt-positioning booster seat must be used with both lap and shoulder belts. A booster seat must not be used with a lap belt alone.
(4) A child at least eight years of age or at least fifty-seven inches tall may be restrained by an adult safety seat belt if the child can be secured properly by an adult safety seat belt. A child is properly secured by an adult safety seat belt if:
(a) the lap belt fits across the child's thighs and hips and not across the abdomen;
(b) the shoulder belt crosses the center of the child's chest and not the neck; and
(c) the child is able to sit with his back straight against the vehicle seat back cushion with his knees bent over the vehicle's seat edge without slouching.
(5) For medical reasons that are substantiated with written documentation from the child's physician, advanced nurse practitioner, or physician assistant, a child who is unable to be transported in a standard child passenger safety restraint system may be transported in a standard child passenger safety restraint system designed for his medical needs.
Any child restraint system of a type sufficient to meet the physical standards prescribed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration at the time of its manufacture is sufficient to meet the requirements of this article.
(B) For the purposes of this section, any portion of a recreational vehicle that is equipped with temporary living quarters shall be considered a rear passenger seat.
What is the fax number to the Sheriff's Office?
Fax: (843) 255-9405
Fax: (843) 255-9453